Journaling gaming adventures

I had a bit different idea when the thought of having a semiprofessional blog arrived at my grey matters but live proved me again that even best laid plans can be changed and sometimes have to be changed. In my case, at the moment it is a bit of improvisation really.
I mean I’m going to carry on with my little Madden series but I’d also like to play some of the games and recently I’m struggling to find the energy to get through 10 mins quarters of Madden especially when I realised that I started to struggle to get set well defensively which annoys me greatly thus making me sulk a bit and waiting for better mood to pop into my household.
I thought of journaling Fallout New Vegas when I started it recently but the game’s old and everyone remotely interested in the subject would not be interested in “microwaved” stuff. I’m enjoying the game as there are choices given to me as how to progress with the quests (in my recent adventure at Helios One I restored the power but spread it evenly despite the instructions given to me by the big headed idiot and also fried all NCR soldiers in vicinity. That was a small accident, but hey. It was fun), something that for some reason Fallout 4 was missing.
image

I find the combat harder and the limit of levels and the limited choice in perks I have is really refreshing as every decision is magnified. I wish, Bethesda came up with an idea of allowing us an option of let’s say choosing a perk every fifth level or even tenth when it comes to Fallout 4.
I think the four or so years between the titles show that the society wants to play games but due to many reasons we don’t have the time to grind and earn things slowly. We expect the instant gratification and to some degree it spoils the experience I get when playing games nowadays.
Anyways… I’m rumbling again with little sense but I think my gaming misses something or I’m expecting too much out of it. It’s hard to say.
I think it’ll take some serious heavy thinking and some trial and error of where I would want to find this section of a blog to be but I’ll carry on trying as I need this “creative” outlet in my life to wake up some things in me that have been asleep for a very long time.
Well. It wasn’t much of a journaling entry but at least it made me think about something else than this awful headache I have been dealing past few hours. Until next loading screen girls and guys!

The Long Walk – Stephen King

image

Being that odd “fan” of the whole World going to hell and us, survivors trying to get it right this time, “The Long Walk” had the right ring to me and I couldn’t miss another story that Stephen King originally published under his Bachman persona.
Hundred of boys takes part in a yearly walk that will bring them fame and their dream prize. There can be only one winner and the finish line is there where there is only last boy standing. Alive. Hey it’s the whole story in one paragraph.
Matters are not that simple though. I grew to expect some heavy thinking when reaching for “Bachman’s” books as there are few titles where Stephen Kings presents us with big questions about us, the humanity and the direction we are heading. It’s no different with this story.
The idea of boys just walking until there is one left alive makes you ask the reasons why the young lads with whole lives ahead of them would want to take part in this fairly suicidal challenge. Are they frustrated, trying to prove the point? Or perhaps there are always some hundred boys that simply don’t mind playing with their lives. We don’t really know it and that’s not the most important point. Valid one yes but not the biggest.
The boys are being followed by the military staff willing to bring order to the walking group at a sight of the finest rebellion or lack of compliance. Every town the group is passing is eagerly awaiting the walking group with hope for some action and hopefully blood.
The plot of this story is a metaphor of our society, lives, the general direction of where we came from and where we head towards. The walking competition and the blood hungry spectators are vision of our near future which King doesn’t let us forget about, no matter how hard we might try he keeps on coming with quotes that make you feel low and brings you back right in front of the miserable sight we have in front us.
We, as a society became hungry for thrill and movies, books, games are just not enough anymore hence the need for such competition to take place so we can feed of misery of others, we can feed our hunger of sight of blood by following the young boys who head towards sure death.
The World depicted in “The Long Walk” is the World where one would rather want to see someone die to satisfy one’s need for thrill rather than try to help, rescue the ones that are about to drop out of the… race.
I mean I can’t stress enough how low and sad the book made me feel and how ordinary and usual it all appears there but King manages to scare the hell out of us without using monsters, ghosts, paranormal stuff. He just shows us what he sees through his window and it’s so scary as hell.