Daily Prompt – Flourish

image

Flourish

I have tried to ignore it, to push those thoughts away
I have tried to starve it off its food to make it go away
I have stopped tending to it and left it to its own demise
I have ignored its calling and all the dreams that came to me
I have left it in many places but yet…
I somehow failed to notice the simple fact that my own inactivity, my own neglect…
And all these thoughts I have had, somehow allowed the depression to flourish…
From a little plant it became a garden that somehow became a forest with each day claiming a bit of me…
I allowed the depression to flourish until it became all that surrounds me closely, prohibiting me from seeing the whole picture that is outside of this huge and wild forest…

Leave a Reply

